Home FAQ
  Mariposa: " Mother of Counties"


Mariposa: Mother of Counties





Even before California became the 31 st State in the Union, on September 9, 1850, Mariposa County was formed. Peter H. Burnett, the first governor of California, signed the law creating 27 original counties. Mariposa County comprised one-fifth of the territory of California due to the small density of population. In following years, Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern and portions of Mono, Inyo, San Bernardino, Los Angeles and San Benito would spring from “The Mother of Counties” as Mariposa was christened.

To view the changes in Mariposa County over the years, please click on the map below



GIVE US FEEDBACK: How Could We Improve This Website?
Click Here To Email Our Webmaster


© 2004 - Superior Court of California